jump to navigation

Forum Restoration May 2, 2008

Posted by Hostify Networks in development.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Hello, fellow IsMyWebsite users! I have been put in charge of restoring the forum, and am in a bit of a quandary. There is a backup from March 21 sitting here on my computer that I will be using to bring the forum back to life. This seems like a good opportunity to do a little bit of upgrading, so I am proud to announce that you will soon be greeted by a shiny new phpBB3 forum.

As for the restoration, we have four options. If you would, please provide your input on these options to ensure the best one is chosen:

  1. Reopen the forum and forever lose the posts made after the March 21 backup. The disadvantage to this is that even if we get the most recent backup, we could not restore it since doing that would destroy the posts made after the reopening.
  2. Reopen the forum for posting, but as soon as the backup is sent by SmokyHosts, it gets restored overwriting any recent posts in the process.
  3. Reopen the forum, but make it read only. This way, when the backup arrives nothing will be overwritten and all data will be left intact. One thing we must consider is that we do want all the posts and users back, and we do not want to confuse new users by suddenly going from one thing to another, so this seems like the most suitable option.
  4. Keep the forum closed until the backup arrives. This seems to be the least desirable option.

Right now my gut is telling me to go with either option two or option three since that should provide the least shock while providing much needed revenue through the ads. I look forward to reading your responses. πŸ™‚

Comments»

1. ForGeeks - May 2, 2008

I would explain the situation and go for option 1.

This means there is a two-way communication again, and from my point of view, most posts are going about reviews and will be posted again soon enough.

Btw., nice layout for the new forum πŸ˜‰

2. Whitts - May 3, 2008

I’m liking option 2, just tell everyone that anything important they post should be saved on their computer.

3. pvcsnathan - May 3, 2008

Thanks. I’m rather hesitant to reopen and lose those posts, though. The backup should be available in the next few days so I’m still unsure if we should wait for that or keep moving forward. However, the backup will likely only take us to April 8 which is still not where I want to be. :-S

4. Adminjames - May 3, 2008

I would, in my oppinion alone, suggest option 3, I know in my past experience, that if a forum reopens before it is about to be overwritten with a restoration, that it can cause many problems if some of the users don’t see the relevent information about saving their posts to their comp. So I suggest only reopining the forum, but making it read only, and posting the relevent post where people can find it!

5. Silvano - May 3, 2008

I would just reopen now, with a huge warning on the new postings that they will be deleted shortly, or as soon as we can get a backup. Unless its possible to merge the backup into the current forum?

6. pvcsnathan - May 3, 2008

It’s open now with the March 21 backup restored.

The ids of all the threads, users, and posts will conflict so merging the two is not a feasible route.

7. J,R,D, Ltd - May 3, 2008

I would do option #3 or keep the forums offline but some people may want information on the forums so I think option #3 would be best.

8. mikespears - May 3, 2008

Where is the forum??

9. pvcsnathan - May 3, 2008

The forum is here: http://ismywebsite.com/forum πŸ˜‰

10. J,R,D, Ltd - May 3, 2008
11. SuperHawk - May 3, 2008

Was this forum in development before the crash? I remember I accidentally went to http://www.ismywebsite.com/forums/ (with an s) and the layout looked something like this.

12. Cain - May 4, 2008

Well I personally didn’t think we had that much to lose in the first place, so might as well start from scratch. If you need any help fitting the forums template to the new site layout email me at monitormonkey@gmail.com

13. Sleepwalker - May 4, 2008

sir how about the free hosting account? is that lost too?

14. ismywebsite - May 4, 2008

Not for long.


Leave a Reply

