jump to navigation

The First Hundreds May 7, 2008

Posted by ismywebsite in general.
trackback

I have finally completed the script to create accounts on our first node, IsMyWs.com, and from here the others will be only a slight modification. This means, as I write this, 750 accounts are being created.

I also have a script creating the first 1000 sub-domains (there are 8000 of these to build) and have rigged up a system so that every single subdomain can be controlled with 1 file. (This means, to create massive changes later I only edit one file.)

So, sub-domains will be able to redirect to the main site, or if it’s down they can be programmed to display the unfortunate news.Β  Lots of applications for this new functionality in other areas as well. Here’s an overview of all automated tasks which will be programmed to bring the site online this weekend hopefully:

  1. Creation of accounts on IsMyWs.com (250/750 complete.)
  2. Creation of subdomains. (Programmed, and working hard.)
  3. Email script to send you your details. (Still under construction.)
  4. Creation of accounts on IsNumberOne.org (Still under construction.)
  5. Modification of domains on IsMyWebs.com (Still under construction.)

After all this, 2500 accounts will be fully online. We then start our massive campaign to get ads on these sites and ensure our survival. Any ideas for this?

Comments»

1. J,R,D, Ltd - May 7, 2008

Looks like you have everything planned out well.

As for the ad campaign, You could send out a mass email saying that anyone who doesn’t have ads placed has a month or two (or less) to place ads otherwise you will have to take action whether that be a warning to each member or the termination of there account. It could also say that anyone who does have ads placed can get Adsense ads by visiting the adsense page and submitting the form and you could state that these ads, although not required like the others, do help the site stay online better (if they do) and give more credits. (unless I remember incorrectly)

I thought I saw somewhere that you are aiming for the site to be online this weekend but I can’t find it now, anyway I hope it is, I know you must be working very hard to get everything working properly.

2. Adminjames - May 8, 2008

I think it is called clustering when you utilize servers the way you guys are, so that will be a good thing to advertise on your hosting plans, cause clustered servers is a MUST HAVE, plus most really corporate hosts (very expensive ones), use server clustering and make you pay alot, so if you guys are setting up server clustering, oh that is so cool, especially if it is FREE??? oh yeah that is so cool!

3. pvcsnathan - May 8, 2008

I believe it’s time for an “Ads or Nix” campaign. Meaning, if one doesn’t put ads his account gets terminated (after giving a “you have one week” warning and offering to help this person place them, of course).

4. alkar - May 8, 2008

It was about time. So many people used to take advantage of IsMyWebsite service without offering back. It’s not that hard to place some tiny ad boxes πŸ™‚

5. ForGeeks - May 8, 2008

I think that would be a good point pvcsnathan πŸ˜‰

And otherwise, I understand a lot of the websites are only used for some kind of homegame and not for outside usage… so why not a restriction that the website must be for common usage? I mean that the content should be made that way that it could be interesting for others too, and in some way a little unique compared to others. So not only a game, what is available on 2000 other websites too…
The advertisements will not bring anything when the website is not visited by other people then the owner itself.
Thinking loud, may be we have to make something to help people making visible on search engines etc… so they will attract as much people as possible. A lot of the websites do have, let’s say it friendly, not the best html code, and most of the time there is not thought about possibilities to optimize a website for search engine robots.

6. pvcsnathan - May 8, 2008

Yes ForGeeks, there need to be restrictions on the types of sites we host. I believe that a place like freewebs is most suited for “personal web pages” and I’m not really sure where the clan sites belong. All I know is that sites like that don’t belong here. The question is, what does belong here? As soon as we figure that out, we can begin generating better guidelines.

7. Adminjames - May 8, 2008

Ye u r so right pvcsnathan, u gotta hav security or th clusterin thing don’t matter, no 1 would want 2 b hosted without proper security and guidelines, and if u don’t set proper guidelines lik suggested u will get ppl comin 2 yr host that u DON’T want commin 2 yr host LOL.

Lucky 4 me, I hav my ads placed LOL, go c @:
http://profcsd.isnumberone.org/

my forum and chat systems r now 100% functional and setup so all r welcome 2 use, and I will b on, @ gmt0, @ 1:00pm 2 10:00pm, this msg was sent @ 4:29pm gmt0, jus so u got a guideline LOL.

8. ForGeeks - May 8, 2008

Euhghh, where is my post gone?!!! :8

9. ismywebsite - May 8, 2008

I just did a calculation. It costs us approximately 3 cents a month for each account. So even if the amount generated is only 10 cents per month from an account, we can still get 3 times as much as our expenses through this.

I don’t think limiting the types of websites is going to fix the problem, since most personal sites with proper advertising will pay for themselves at the very least. What we need is more AdSense placed and/or an effective system of convincing advertisers to sign up to the traditional system.

10. frixoft - May 8, 2008

have u still got the old ad system or was it lost in the hack?

11. Adminjames - May 9, 2008

Just being curious but, what do you mean by “convincing advertisers to sign up to the traditional system.” Traditional system?? I do not know what you are refering to LOL.

Plus I am noticing that you are after more users with adsense on there sites, why not, when users first signup onto IMW, send a message to them, on th first page they see, as well as a permenent message on the overview page, and in there PM slot, maybe they will get the hint LOL. But this don’t always work so you could also try, alongside the other idea, offering your service to help them place em, and also moderating the chats, or getting someone to mod the chats, so that if people asked about ads, the mod could answar. I am totally willing to mod the chat, but I wouldn’t be able to do it for more than 9 hours, cuz of my time zone, and also, just so you all know, I am on gmt(Greenwich Mean Time) timezone 0.

Plus I will also be modding my own chat system so, it would be better to get other users than myself!

And I notice people coming to my chat page, but not logging in, just because the online list says noones online, that isn’t always entirely true, as some people are hidden from the whois system for security reasons. I have two accounts, 1 for administration (hidden), and 1 for moderation and talk (visible), so come and atleast see if anyone is on by logging into my chat @ http://profcsd.isnumberone.org/chat/

The link above will initiate a security protocole indused redirect to the actual chat, just a bit of a shortcut thats all LOL.

And good luck with getting everything online for IMW guys!

12. ismywebsite - May 9, 2008

Traditional system = old system = link ads.

And yes I have the system. Despite extensive forum advertising, the only signup received was from one of our old clients.

(This was before the period of downtime.)

When I looked at statistics a number of visitors went straight to the about section and then left the site. (Which is why I was pressing for ideas of what to put there.)

That would help the signup somewhat. The other thing is, people placing ads near the bottom of their websites is a serious threat to the click-through rate. (I’m trying to keep this above 0.1%.)

13. ForGeeks - May 9, 2008

What is the status at this moment about creating the subdomains for the different domains? It is two days after you posted about the script you made, so I am curious about the current progress πŸ˜‰

About the ads; it is very easy to tell the users that the ads must be somewhere in the upper half of the webpage. This could be a little more then just a recommendation too….
Because your services are ‘free’, I think it is allowed to ask something like this to your users.

14. alkar - May 9, 2008

And I believe it’s most acceptable to delete accounts that do not comply to those requirements πŸ™‚

15. ForGeeks - May 10, 2008

It is quiet here πŸ˜‰

16. ForGeeks - May 10, 2008

Sorry to say but because we are already waiting for two weeks now and still websites are not up, I have decided to move my website to free-space.net. They also support safemode off and allow_url_fopen, and my first experience with them is superb. Very fast loading, a large community and free…
Here is my link: http://forgeeks.f-sw.com

So, I really do hope IsMyWebsite.com will get things straight, and may be at that moment I will come back and decide to host my website here again, but for now I am very happy with my new ‘home’.

17. zakob - May 10, 2008

smywebsite is MUCH better than free-space. Trust me. Your site will be up soon here. Mine is up, check it out at vidwiios.com

Just have a bit of patience, you’ll see.

free-space never replies to support requests, and it’s almost impossible to set up a domain with them.

18. Anonymous - May 10, 2008

I’m also sorry to say that I’m probably going to do the same as ForGeeks and switch to a new host too because it’s been a while and who knows how much longer it will be. Sorry!

19. zakob - May 10, 2008

Only a little while, actually. A lot of sites are up, including mine, and adminjames. Support matt, guys!

20. ismywebsite - May 10, 2008

I will have something special for those who are still here on our opening day. Those who leave will miss out – even if they come back later.

21. Anonymous - May 10, 2008

I am poster 18 and I checked out some other free hosting sites tho they are nothing like ismywebsite so i’m staying. Don’t think anything can beat ismywebsite.

22. J,R,D, Ltd - May 10, 2008

I am definitely going to stay at IMW, I have been checking the blog for updates everyday since I heard about it.


Leave a Reply

