jump to navigation

What YOU Can Do May 16, 2008

Posted by ismywebsite in general.
trackback

It’s good to know that some people still visit the site. These are not easy times. Since I’ve been asked this a lot, there are a number of ways you can help.

  1. Download our toolbar. It works on most common browsers, is free, contains no spyware, adware, or viruses, and has tons of useful features. It gives you direct updates from our blog and when you search with it, you help support us financially.
  2. Place Google AdSense on any popular website. It doesn’t have to be hosted with us. Just send us a link to your site and we can send you code.
  3. Donate $5 CDN, $5 USD, $5 AUD, £5 GBP, or €5 EUR. This will go towards establishing more nodes and supporting the ones we have for next month. (Just a few people donating is a huge help. If everyone that could did, that would be awesome.)
  4. Buy a domain for $15/yr. Just email us if this interests you more than a donation. Nameservers can be anything.
  5. If you may be interested in providing us with another node, see the criteria below.
  6. Know of any good items we should sell for credits. (We have no budget to buy at this point.)
  7. Keep checking the blog. Stay active here. Make more comments. Be optimistic. Never lose hope.

As for when the site will be back online, I’m expecting 4 days to get the main site online and improve the admin panel to work with nodes. Then I will be starting to create and fix accounts over the next 4 days.

Some recent decisions:

  • We will not be using SmokyHosts anymore. Those hosted there will have to be relocated to another node elsewhere. Clients who cannot do this themselves will be able to get assistance from administrators given this task. There is 3 weeks to get all data transfered. (Check previous posts to find out why SmokyHosts is unsuitable.)
  • No more free domains will be offered until we are re-established. There are higher priorities at this time. (We are, however, looking at getting other items up for sale soon.)
  • We are taking time right now to make sure things are all working, and will not go offline in the future. This is instead of making sure things are online really quickly now, but liable to go down again in the future.

Becoming a Node Criteria

  • A reseller, VPS, or dedicated server with cPanel installed and powerful enough to handle at least 100 accounts. Storage and bandwidth requirements are usually 5MB/50MB per account, assuming you have overselling enabled.
  • Make sure ‘Free Hosting’ is allowed by the TOS of any company you are hosting with. If there are any additional restrictions, those should also be mentioned.
  • A good domain starting with ‘is’. The extension should be .com, .net, or .org. If your domain is different, you will still be considered.
  • Up to the task of monitoring the node to keep it online.
  • You will need to set up packages on the WHM. Details will be emailed.
  • Obviously we will need access to your account.

We have scripts all ready to create the accounts on your node, as well as performing updates to those accounts. Once you get it set up, all you need to worry about is keeping it working.

Thanks For Reading!

Comments»

1. skorpyo - May 16, 2008

I’m still here!
i would love to donate but i don’t have a credit card…next month maybe…
I’m gonna help by putting some google ads on my site(hosted on other host), just send me the code.
i can’t wait to see some improvements from ismywebsite!
I’m not giving up!

2. zakob - May 16, 2008

I’ll continue to stay with ismywebsite, matt. I’m eager for the re-launch, and would love to see the site flourish some more. As you know, I may be purchasing reseller hosting in the near future, so that means another node! Good look with the hosting endeavors, and don’t give up, you still have faithful users!

3. Richard Le (Ricardo-san) - May 17, 2008

Hello,
I have a professional hosting site being setup, if you like I could provide some space for you.
But the space and bandwidth is kind of outrageous. 5 GB space and 50 GB bandwith for EACH ACCOUNT? That’s crazy…
Anyway Matt just remember I can provide you some quality eBooks whenever you need.
By the way, I had enough credits to get two one-year domains, so I’d really appreciate if you could register two for me.

4. ForGeeks - May 18, 2008

One week to go and we have a month of down time.

Although I do believe you spend almost all your time to get things working again and this time in a way these things can not happen again, I think it is unacceptable for a hosting company to have down times like this.

Anyway, I still hope thinks will work out good for you and the users which are still waiting and do not have switched allready.

Good luck,
ForGeeks.

5. Aaron L. - Labtech959 IMW Advisor - May 18, 2008

We Need ALL The Help We Can Get LOL

6. Jason - May 19, 2008

I’ve noticed you’ve asked for us to place ads on our sites in multiple posts, but I can’t seem to find them. I know where it was before all these problems started, but where is it now?

7. Chris - May 19, 2008

I still have my previous code I used on my website back when ismywebsite was still running… I think the code is still valid, thus I’ll use it on my other site.

Thanks for your work though and I’m not giving up ^^

Chris.

8. Adminjames - May 19, 2008

Me too, am there with you guys all the way! I will NEVER give up unless forced to by nature! I love IMW it’s the best host I have EVER used, it is perfect for what I am after… PERFECT! no other host beats IMW except INO(isnumberone) they’re both equal quality cause they are both as good as eachother! I will support you guys so long as I live and use your services! Sorry I cannot pay money to you any other way than the adsense code from my original site, I am too yound to own a credit card in my country (so lame!). Good Luck all!


Leave a Reply

