jump to navigation

Comments»

1. J,R,D, Ltd - May 29, 2008

Looks like you are making good progress. What do you consider a strong-willed person?

2. skorpyo - May 29, 2008

i’m a good member and i got the stupid ismywe.com…i’m not…forget it…i’m out of here…you can cancel all my accounts…

3. Adminjames - May 29, 2008

=O oh nooos, ppl are leaving us… we’re back up too!
I think they mean strong-willed by ppl who can put up with the strain, and be patient, and try to help out… I SO WISH I COULD DO MORE, but am too young to have a credit card or anything like that… this is so stupid! SKORPYO ITS BACK ONLINE..DUH!

4. J,R,D, Ltd - May 29, 2008

Yea thats what I thought but I wanted to see what Matt said about it. I think I’ll send him an email as it says. And there’s no point saying anything to Skorpyo, if he truly has left then he won’t see these messages.

5. pvcsnathan - May 29, 2008

Odd, I would love to be on ismywe.com….or any server other than my own Ubuntu box. Too bad my site is fat (now at 9GB). There is no hope. πŸ˜₯

6. gopanvn321 - May 30, 2008

matt pls change nameserver for my domain gopstorrent.com pls do that fast matt pls i am back of this from 1 month

7. gopanvn321 - May 30, 2008

sorry for complaining matt

8. J,R,D, Ltd - May 30, 2008

@Pvcsnathan, What is wrong with a Ubuntu server? Or is it your only computer?

9. pvcsnathan - May 30, 2008

1) Well, it’s here at home on my slow (at least what I call slow) DSL connection. It would be ok if my net connection could actually handle the task (Only 384kb/s up and that gets saturated rather fast. When it is being used, everything goes slowly….like dialup.).
2) My ISP doesn’t exactly allow me to do this. I run the risk of having my account terminated. If that happens, I won’t have a way to get onto the Internet.
3) There really isn’t anything wrong with Ubuntu. I actually like it very much. I was just trying to be as descriptive as possible and that seems to have come out as something negative (which it was not intended to be).
4) Some security risks are presented from doing this, especially since I’m not exactly sure how to make it all secure. For all I know, my backup drives are currently available for anyone to use (wouldn’t that be fun?). As far as I can tell it is secure, but how can I really know?

10. mikespears - May 31, 2008

OMG pvcsnathan’s connection sucks!

11. pvcsnathan - May 31, 2008

It’s really not that bad…down speed is 3mb/s. πŸ˜›

12. ismywebsite - May 31, 2008

@JRD
See Skorpyo…

@Skorpyo
Don’t bother asking…

@Adminjames
Can’t decide whether I’d want him to see that or not. And by strong-willed I want the angry people to fight for us instead of against us.

@Pvcsnathan
I’ve got space for you, if you need it.

@Gopanvn321
Sorry for being slow. I’ll take an inventory of all domains that need to be changed and change them now.

13. pvcsnathan - May 31, 2008

I think Mike is taking care of it (you may want to ask him, though). It seems that I have days (yes, literally days) of uploading to look forward to at any rate.

14. J,R,D, Ltd - June 1, 2008

@Pvcsnathan, Are you using a free hosting control panel on your Ubuntu box or just apache and php?

I use ISPConfig for mine and I’m sure it’s secure.

My ISP is making it difficult for me to get my server live through the use of NAT.

Yea your DSL is sort of slow but mine is slower.

Anyway we are (or I am) sort of hijacking Matt’s comment page.

Matt when do you think Node 8 will be online with clients?

15. pvcsnathan - June 1, 2008

No, I haven’t bothered to install a hosting control panel. Frankly, I don’t see any need for it as long as I’m the only one using it. In addition to that, I can walk over to it and do anything I need since it’s right across the room. πŸ˜›

I just have LAMP and some other essential addons (like phpMyAdmin, mod-ssl, etc). Seems to work quite well except for the lack of mail…still haven’t figured out why it won’t work anymore.

16. J,R,D, Ltd - June 3, 2008

That works fine, I just mentioned a free hosting control panel because you mentioned security and I don’t know how easy it would be for a hacker to get into a server without any hosting control software, I guess it would be about the same as long as your passwords are strong and software like SSH an FTP are up-to-date.

17. pvcsnathan - June 5, 2008

I’m going to be doing fresh installs on all of my computers. When it comes time to do my Ubuntu box, I’m going to use this tutorial since it seems to get me closer to where I need to be. However, I’m going to use the Desktop version of Ubuntu instead of the Server version since I have other things that computer needs to do and I don’t feel like installing Gnome (or much of anything else for that matter) manually…

18. J,R,D, Ltd - June 5, 2008

Thats what I do πŸ™‚

19. pvcsnathan - June 5, 2008

Tutorial didn’t work out so well…..now to start over again. 😦 Perhaps I’ll get it right this time… I’ll wait until tomorrow to begin again…I’m much too tired to be attempting to do this anyway (which is probably the whole problem).

20. J,R,D, Ltd - June 7, 2008

If you need help you can message me on IMW and then we can talk via email or im, my IMW name is jrdltd.

21. pvcsnathan - June 7, 2008

I have it working, but not with the nice control panel like I wanted. I had trouble with the secure certificates (the tutorial seems to want me to make several of these…I probably mistyped somewhere…also probably could have simply fixed it by simply going through the process again, but by that time I was quite tired and wasn’t thinking straight), and with the mysql database (it helps to set the correct permissions…another stupid mistake…guess who won’t forget that again πŸ˜‰ ).

I’m also still trying to figure out how to get my second internal drive to mount automatically (Google didn’t help and all the tutorials seem to be for NTFS instead of ext3…the fstab file has changed since I last played with it… 😦 ).

How much experience do you have with Linux? I suppose you’re not a beginner like me…

22. J,R,D, Ltd - June 7, 2008

“How much experience do you have with Linux?” Well I am not at all a pro but I have setup this system about 3 times before on different machines.

Extra drives should show up in nautilus (file manager) either on the left side or when you open “Computer” from the Places menu, they should look something like “40gb volume” and then when you double click on them it should mount them.

23. pvcsnathan - June 7, 2008

Yes, I know, but I want it mounted automatically on startup…I dislike having to mount stuff manually (going to Places–> 500.1 GB Media…funny how external drives are always mounted automatically). I have all my drives set up as shared so I can access them from other computers and every time I go to use it, I have to mount it (computer gets restarted a bunch, otherwise it wouldn’t be a problem…). I’m gonna have to stop touching this thing when I’m tired.

Anyway, back on topic… How’s IsMyHost doing…any clues as to why it keeps failing?


Leave a Reply

