jump to navigation

Hosting Status Update February 28, 2009

Posted by ismywebsite in general.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I have received recent word from Felweb:

The password core has been restored so you can now access your accounts. If you changed the password just try with both password and one of them will work. This applies also for emails, ftp accounts and databases.

So, at this time, your cPanel and FTP account access should be fully functional. Remember to connect to the new IP address, 69.162.119.146, if you are connecting via IP. As your subdomain is not working yet, you will need to use this. For cPanel:

http://69.162.119.146:2082/

For FTP, enter 69.162.119.146 as your hostname. Check to make sure your files are restored correctly on the server, and let me know if there are any problems.

If you have a domain, your website should be fully functional at this time.

Unfortunately, those with subdomains have a small wait. This is nothing to do with Felweb. It’s related to the way our DNS is set up. The current system does not allow changes to existing ‘zones’, meaning we can’t change the subdomains to point to the new server. For the past month, I’ve been working on a new system, which should come online within the next hour or so. (I spent 8 hours on it yesterday alone. DNS is such a pain…)

Your websites, however, will take up to 2 days to be fully visible through propagation, just as they would if you were to change where an individual domain pointed. If you want to view your website ASAP, I recommend setting up Open DNS, which is free. Basically, it tells your computer where to find the server, instead of waiting for your ISP to update their records.

After this period, your DNS will respond more reliably than before, meaning your website will be visible to more people, more often. I know many users have reported troubles in this area. In addition, you will have control over your own subdomains. This has been tested to fully work. See for yourself our test page:

http://myg8.ismyhost.com/

While writing this post, I have just received a successful run of my DNS updating script, so we should be online again very very soon.

Comments»

1. Cyclone103 - March 1, 2009

My website is still fully glitched. I cannot access cpanel under any attempts, MySQL is down, and half my stuff is missing. I am using an actual domain…

2. Cyclone103 - March 1, 2009

My website is seated at http://www.sagamountain.com.

On my forums, I get: http://www.sagamountain.com/forums

My wiki is down as well: http://www.sagamountain.com/wiki

My blog appears to be entirely gone: http://www.sagamountain.com/blog

Please email me to let me know the status of my account. I do have a site backup, so worst comes to worst and you help me restore what I had. I would rather wait and see though.

3. Dave - March 1, 2009

Hi

Here’s a recent update on my acc. It’s a mystery why the reverse always happens for me. Like I use a domain on my account , but it’s not working still now. But on contrary my subdomain under ismywebsite is working fine and I can also access the CPanel login page using the subdomain but still the login is not getting accepted. The uname and pass is getting rejected. Anyway I know that this backup recovery process is a tedious one and I can always wait for a few more days to get my website fully working again. Only one question is the nameservers changed cause I use Nameservers for my Domains and still now the domains are not working. None of my domains are working.

4. ismywebsite - March 2, 2009

The nameservers should not be changed.

5. Gatz - March 3, 2009

seems my website and cpanel still don’t work [node 2]

when I’m trying to access my website I get this message
“Great Success !
Apache is working on your cPanel® and WHM™ Server”

Anyway I’m patience and I know Matt is doing everything he can to solve all problems


Leave a Reply

