jump to navigation

Help Wanted May 1, 2009

Posted by ismywebsite in general.
trackback

I’ve decided that the best path to getting on top of all our problems is with qualified, dedicated volunteers. I’m currently accepting applicants here:

http://www.ismywebsite.com/volunteer.php

Of course support is bad when I can’t answer it, new websites aren’t accepted, and nothing gets done. If you’re not willing to help solve problems, you have nothing to complain about.

(And yes the application is very long so only qualified, dedicated people like you can get in. I’m ready to get serious, and I don’t need false promises.)

I haven’t received a reply. Was I accepted?
It’s not a matter of if, but of when. Applications that have more details will be chosen first to assist, while others will be chosen once those volunteers are trained and in position.

Did you receive my application?
There have been no reports of applications going missing that have been confirmed to be true. I have also extensively tested the system, and I have dozens of applications coming in at the moment.

When are you selecting the final team?
There is no final team. The exact structure will be slowly built up, volunteer by volunteer, as they are trained and assigned to their positions. At present, we have staff in place to process all email messages, and they are doing a great job of it. Once this group has had a chance to work together for a while and is working stably, selection will begin on the next phase.

Why do you need so much information?
The largest reason is to determine your dedication and competency. How you reply to those questions is a good indication of how you will reply to real situations once you are on the job. Each question has a specific goal in mind, or character trait that is being determined. Different traits are helpful in different positions. Each question is optional, but a refusal to answer any question may be used against you.

Comments»

1. pvcsnathan - May 2, 2009

Wow…it’s certainly comprehensive. It doesn’t ask for age, however. For whatever reason, I consider that to be important information.

I’m not sure how far I would get on filling out the form. For some reason the form makes me think “how much information do these people really need?” Oh well, I suppose nothing is perfect.

2. ismywebsite - May 3, 2009

Hi Nathan,

Most major organizations of today have some sort of interview process, which follows the resume and screening. They ask tough questions, many simply to test attitude and ethic of the individuals involved.

In this industry, I cannot face defeat at the hands of incompetence or poor values. I must know all the answers, what makes my staff work their best, and what they do the best, so I can assemble the best possible team and produce the best possible outcome.

So, while it may not be my business what books you read, and what your favourite movie is, this is valuable information about you as a person, but more than that, your willingness to share who you are is important in a job where you are establishing relationships.

Consider the application as a dialogue as well as a resume.

3. blogia - February 23, 2010

A nice point!


Leave a Reply

