jump to navigation

DNS Analogy November 12, 2009

Posted by ismywebsite in general.
trackback

Some people still don’t get what happened. Here’s an analogy:

Imagine if every Monday, you ask how to get to school. But one day the information booth is closed. So you give up and collapse at the side of the street in a heap. That’s what any computers that couldn’t access our domain or your websites did.

And also consider this. That whole thing happened because the person operating that information booth didn’t have directions to one location. They didn’t know how to get to the theatre, let’s say. That operator doesn’t know how to get to the theatre, so he refuses to come to work, and everyone collapses in heaps at the side of the road because they don’t know how to get where they need to go. Not only that. He doesn’t call in sick. He doesn’t complain. There aren’t any errors. He just doesn’t come.

Sound absurd? Well, that’s why I’m a little bit more than upset about what happened. I checked. I made sure school was open for the day. I made sure the teachers were ready to teach. I made sure that the grass was cut, the flowers watered, the gates open. But none of that mattered. The guy at the information booth wouldn’t tell anyone how to get to the school, so they didn’t go, even though it’s at the same place it’s always been.

Well, guess what? I’ve hired someone new to man the information booth, and this guy WILL tell me if things go wrong and he can’t come to work, something that has never happened since we first created the DNS system 9 months ago. I’m also building a second information booth, so there will be no collapsing in a heap by the side of the road for anyone anymore.

Some people are leaving, and I guess that’s fine. They have a right to be upset. But not my fault everyone decided to collapse in heaps at the side of the road. I only forgot to tell the information booth operator where the theater was, one line in over a million lines of DNS configuration. And it wasn’t even that I didn’t specify that. It was a glitch in the commercial control panel I used to set the DNS. The entry disappeared after I set it.

That’s DNS for you, one of the most frustrating and difficult to manage systems on the face of the planet. There are probably only a few thousand people in the entire world who even know enough to build a system like ours, so I’m sorry that it took a little over a day to fix it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

