jump to navigation

Alone With Support Again February 8, 2010

Posted by ismywebsite in general.
trackback

It would unfortunately appear that those who were most willing to commit themselves to helping with your website problems are now unwilling to commit to them.

Nick – Quit within 2 weeks.

Megan – Still inactive, and was in the process of being replaced.

Bobby – Now overwhelmed with studies and unable to properly commit himself.

So, that leaves essentially me to handle all the incoming mail while managing the remaining team, which is absolutely wonderful since we all know I get extra hours each day that nobody else gets. Oh right, that wasn’t it. I’m superhuman and don’t need any sleep. No wait, I remember. IsMyWebsite is my only commitment in life so I have all my time available to devote to that.

My guess is maybe support just isn’t for most people. The idea of working to help a very large number of people at the sacrifice of oneself just isn’t appealing. It’s not beneficial.

In fact it’s not nearly as much fun as it was when this site was tiny and there were maybe 20-30 really active clients who needed my help. Now that I get many more than asking for my help each and every day, it’s just not the same. I can’t relate to each and every one of them.

But I’ve had this problem before, and I came up with a solution earlier. And it did work a heck of a lot better than what I’m trying now. That was, the Advisor system…

Anyone remember it? You would have to be one of the really old clients. Anyways, basically, an Advisor is a client who volunteers to help other clients. In exchange, they get 5% of all credits that client gets. Not taken away from the client, but coming out of thin air. So, there’s a benefit to helping out.

And, if you don’t, then eventually your clients will just ditch you for another Advisor. It’s fairly simple. And plus, there’s a public rating system on your Advisor profile much like ours…
http://www.ismywebsite.com/testify

So yeah, I expect this system to considerably replace most of the need for support, however it’s not going to be instantly implemented. I’ve set a date of February 21st to complete a basic version.

Comments»

1. Rui Pereira - February 8, 2010

Well, as i said before, i am very sad that it came this way.

I will make my best to help you and everyone hosted at IsMyWebsite to have the best free experience as possible

2. Amit Sharma - February 8, 2010

Hi ismywebsite ,
Can I give u some assist to help people , or I have better ideas.

3. DerekHarper - February 8, 2010

Sorry,

I’ve having issues of my very own.
I’m going to start being active again though.

4. Anonymous - February 9, 2010

I need help. I cannot connect to my database.

define(“DB_USERNAME”,’****_admin’);
define(“DB_PASSWORD”,’*******’);
define(“DB_NAME”,’*********’);
define(“DB_HOST”,’localhost’);

As i tried to connect using that info, I get this error….

Failed to connect to database.
SQLSTATE[HY000] [2005] Unknown MySQL server host ‘DB_HOST’ (1)

5. Marc/Raistlin - February 9, 2010

I’d help you but:
a) Overwhelmed with work too. I have four tests today.
b) I’m not sure what the tech requirements are for Support.

6. jose lujan - February 9, 2010

i cant see my site http://josedlujan.100ws.net/ i dont now why because i have a index.shtml in the server can explain someone?

7. ken - February 10, 2010

i have just submited an application for janitor on the website email me back thanks

8. Amit Sharma - February 11, 2010

Hi Anonmous,
if you are working on ismywebsite database
then _ , _

9. Amit Sharma - February 11, 2010

Hi Anonmous,
if you are working on ismywebsite database
then “your user name”_”your database user name” , “your user name”_”database name”

10. Amit Sharma - February 11, 2010

‘_’ is to join them

11. Amit Sharma - February 11, 2010

Hi ken ,
If you dont need that file then delete it 🙂
as simple as that usually shtml , is not main file of any server 🙂

12. Marc/Raistlin - February 11, 2010

To all support questions.
Why don’t you try posting on the forums instead of posting here?

13. mr glasses - February 12, 2010

It’s quite vexing to see these support people leave. However I’m not quite as disturbed about Bobby. (I can empethize)

I would volunteer, but I don’t have time. However I might try to become an advisor.

This leads to the following question: How do I become an advisor?

Please forgive the silliness of the question, but I couldn’t find it in the blog post.

NOTE: It’s 2/12/10 and IMW is down, the wbesite won’t load. DNS issues again?

14. lakridserne - February 13, 2010

We’re in time of building the advisor system up again, and you can’t apply yet. Note: It can be as much time you use on the advisor system as you do on support even if you only have one to support (the jobs can be bigger – up to building the whole website).

15. Brendan (Cobrastrike) - February 24, 2010

I personally suggest that everyone come to the Community Forums for help as I check that much more frequently than the email.

I can only speak for myself though.

16. lakridserne - February 24, 2010

Brendan: Matt and me are checking the GMail every day.


Leave a Reply

