jump to navigation

Full Story On Node 6 March 19, 2010

Posted by ismywebsite in general.
trackback

Alright. Now that it’s resolved I figured it would be worth the time to analyze exactly what happened with Node 6 and how we can avoid this in the future. Here’s the approximate timeline.

December 3rd, 2009 – The provider we were initially dealing with (Nixism) was acquired by another company (HostDime). Initially, they mixed up our hosting plan, but we sorted that out. However, as we soon found out, their overhead costs make the deal we had previously impossible. Thus, we began discussions to determine if a suitable arrangement could be reached. In the end, they were prepared to forego any profit in order to maintain our patronage, on the merit that your using their servers, and their supporting our project would bring them a lot more business, and thus prove economical in the end. However, the deals they offered were still out of our budget, and often on outdated hardware that just wasn’t of sufficient quality.

January 28th, 2010 – It was announced the server was going offline, and they asked if I wanted to close any deals with them. I prepared to move to another provider (MochaHost) and informed them that none of their deals met our current needs but I still wanted to consider them in the future. I asked them when the server would be going offline. They continued to provide a few alternate offers, and every time I asked when the server was going offline.

February 15th, 2010 – After a full month of research into the new provider, discussions with their support, and analysis of their offer, we signed on with MochaHost. I began getting everything set up shortly after, a process which wasn’t exactly the fastest. For example, they are still using ModernBill, which has a major problem with passwords. They didn’t give us the standard control over accounts (which took a week to resolve with them, due to non-existent ‘security risks’). And they had set the limit of bandwidth to 0, thinking it was unlimited. It amazes me that they’ve been in business for seven years and their process is still like this. However, I should point out that all problems are, at present, resolved with them, so it’s working out in the end. It’s just delayed the moving over of accounts, which was part of the reason data got lost.

February 22nd, 2010 – HostDime finally answered my question, that the server was going offline March 1st ‘by the way’.

February 25th, 2010 – They announced they had plans to top the new provider’s deal. I sent them full information on exactly what the offer was and that was the last I ever heard from them on that.

March 1st, 2010 – All accounts which had been logged into in the past 30 days were transferred over, or so I thought. It turns out that the script I was using had worked for the first number of accounts, absolutely perfectly, and then broke after that point.

March 2nd, 2010 – All accounts on the HostDime server were suspended. I assumed that this was because the server was being taken offline. Hosting was switched for all clients to the new provider as soon as possible. However, as I found out, most data did, in fact, not get successfully transferred. Thus, we needed back onto the HostDime server.

March 15th, 2010 – Hooray! I got a reply. Appears the server was actually transferred March 10th, and the suspension was something else. (I’m guessing a billing error.) Discussion continued for the next 4 days. They agreed first to restore the account (which took a whole day), then finally to restore my account so I could actually access things.

March 19th, 2010 – Today we now have access again to the old server data, for a limited time,. I’ve just emailed everyone with an account on Node 6 their access details, and requested status from each. So this should get everyone transfered who still needs to be transferred, and we can start over fresh with the new provider.

I’m not sure what exactly I did wrong here. Obviously the script needs to be fixed. But otherwise?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

