jump to navigation

Developments November 16, 2010

Posted by ismywebsite in general.
trackback

1) The backup of the site currently is from October 10th. So where did I get the beginning of the month from? Why directly from a Skype conversation with Brendan:

[1:45:35 AM] Brendan McNiff (Cobrastrike – ADM): Unfort[u]nately, I did not think to take a backup before restoring.
[1:45:47 AM] Brendan McNiff (Cobrastrike – ADM): That was an error on my part. I admit that.

[1:46:10 AM] Matt McGirr (Azoundria – Adm): If there’s a possibility your backup will have useful data we need to explore it
[1:46:35 AM] Brendan McNiff (Cobrastrike – ADM): Let me do a current export and see what is different in that header.
[1:48:53 AM] Brendan McNiff (Cobrastrike – ADM): Appearantly 10.25 is the date there.
[1:50:07 AM] Matt McGirr (Azoundria – Adm): Hmm
[1:50:13 AM] Matt McGirr (Azoundria – Adm): When did you delete the users?
[1:50:41 AM] Brendan McNiff (Cobrastrike – ADM): Approx 11/1
[1:50:49 AM] Brendan McNiff (Cobrastrike – ADM): I believe
[1:51:10 AM] Brendan McNiff (Cobrastrike – ADM): 11/5 at the latest

2) The backup at a later date which I took, was of the new site’s database. The last backup I took I remember like it was two weeks ago, but it was in September.

3) I’m not mad at Brendan for stepping up and taking initiative about removing inactive users. For sure, there’s a difference of opinion on whether that was a good idea or not. What I’m upset about is not knowing who or when it was done, and that it would appear, a backup was not taken directly before it happened either.

4) VectorLevel gave me this nice reassurance on the 13th of November:

Hi there, we are looking at what we can do for you and will get back to you as soon as possible. Admittedly our backup strategy is designed for catastrophic restores than individual restores but we think we can pull something for you anyways. Thanks!

As of this moment, they have not responded further on any details or procedures available. Is anyone else having trouble accessing their main site at http://www.vectorlevel.com/? (No problems with their client area.) HostGator has weekly offsite backups offered as part of their service, and I’m quite certain they can offer a restore within 2 days.

5) Since this time, Stefan thought it would be a good idea to update the DNS server, thus ensuring any websites which got destroyed in the database are now offline.

It’s my fault, I did it as usually. I wasn’t thinking it would affect the current websites. Since it was my mistake I’ll add all websites manually if it’s needed but I need to know how.

The procedure is as follows:

(a) Have the client recreate the website.

(b) Accept it onto the same server it was created on.

So Stefan can be reached via PM at the username ”Gatz”. I’m sure he’ll be more than happy to help you. I’m quite loaded with messages at the moment.

Comments»

1. Vincent Restall - November 16, 2010

A couple of questions;

For those of us that had our site moved to another server, can we have our details updated to reflect the change we had?

Node 5 seems to be lacking the security it had enabled, is that going to be reapplied?

My site my still be on Node 4, but the old version from Node 5 is showing, as a result my users are hesitant on what to do and some are posting material (which is going to be difficult for me to merge the different databases). So the sooner I know what course of action I must take, the better.

2. Deltaforce229 - November 16, 2010

I can’t reach vectorlevel.com from here however according to downforeveryoneorjustme.com it’s up.

http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/vectorlevel.com

3. Oliver - November 16, 2010

Thank you for filling me in on the details. This shows me the responsibility of IMW’s staff.


Leave a Reply

