jump to navigation

While I Wait For HostGator January 6, 2011

Posted by ismywebsite in general.
trackback

So while I wait “10 minutes” for HostGator’s DDOS system, which it appears was accidentally tripped when restoring FireFox tabs, and ponder how much progress I could have made in the 50 minutes and counting I have so far lost, I wanted to give you a quick update on Node 1:

They did reply (finally) and said it would be easiest if I sent them a list of usernames, which I did. So fingers crossed, they should be able to restore things fairly quickly here.

As for Node 7, how many of you want me to keep trying data recovery, and who wants me to just scrap it?

Comments»

1. lyudmil - January 6, 2011

I have backups on my computer and in the Christmas break I even updated most of the pages. My problem is that I can’t upload them on the RevoGate server and meanwhile I’m losing visitors/clicks/Google indexing points on the site. So on my part, I am for earliest access to the site possible. However, there might be other people who haven’t made backups, and losing those might be hard on them. So, I will go with the majority.

2. NickoCP - January 6, 2011

So would SmokyHosts definitely be able to get things back or would we need to make a new website application and restore things that way through backups or whatever?

3. mythus - January 6, 2011

I know that I have a back up made from the last day of November on my computer, and I *think* I might have made one even more recent than that but not certain on that. But regardless, I know that even if RevoGate was to somehow find some data, they wouldn’t be able to recover 100% of it. Also we cannot forget that every day (let alone every hour) that a site is left offline = loss in search engine rankings, visitor traffic, and money (at least in ad credits to IMW). So while I am tempted to say “Find that data!” I understand very well that it would be best to get things in order and let everyone affected get their sites back up.

I so hope that you make some kind of provisions to ensure that this issue does not happen again in the future! Despite whoever is at fault, this looks bad on IMW and is very costly to IMW and its clients!

4. Deltik - January 6, 2011

I have a client under me who will be extremely angry if he does not get his data back.

5. area7 - January 6, 2011

I have 1 site on node 7 and has not been up long so yes scrap it if needed and all agree to I’m in. No crying over spilled milk here, you all are doing a great job and things happen. So do what ever you need to do with it to get it up to speed.

6. akya - January 7, 2011

I just want access to site again. I don’t think any data recovery would be worth all this waiting time. Most of the data recovery options do not result in 100% recovery.. I will go with everyone else but I am okay with scraping the data.

7. cold - January 8, 2011

Thanks Matt and everyone on Ismywebsite to trying to solve the problem that happened in Node 7. I know that you are doing your best, so, thanks. [Sorry my bad english]

8. hal9 - January 9, 2011

> As for Node 7, how many of you want me
> to keep trying data recovery,
> and who wants me to just scrap it?

I strongly hope my data will come back :’-(
Matt, please save my site.

9. lyudmil - January 10, 2011

Is there an option to chose sites to be recovered?
If the answer is yes, then you can make a poll (here or on the forum) to see which sites should be recovered and which need not. This may speed up the recovery.

Am I right in thinking that the user info (accounts, passwords, etc.) are in a different place than the websites? If so, would a new application be required after starting of the server, or it is only a question of allowing Control Panel and FTP access for the existing account?

10. mythus - January 11, 2011

So are we moving forward then?

11. ismael - January 11, 2011

It’s sad to say that I would be one of those who would be losing some data but I guess that would be a lesson for me to always do a backup. T_t Anyway, Im up for the early access of the websites.

12. Lian556 - January 13, 2011

Today around 7pm GMT-0 my site ”Aceskies” on Node 1 suddently Started Working!! No data loss!

13. J,R,D, Ltd - January 15, 2011

Are you still waiting for HostGator?

14. Kevin - January 15, 2011

I have my website backed up on my Mac in iWeb so no loss to data, just anxiously awaiting version 4.0 to be up and running so I can repost. Any release date as of yet?

15. NickoCP - January 16, 2011

Have N1 replied yet? *yawn*

16. lyudmil - January 18, 2011

Hello !?

17. hal9 - January 18, 2011

If the recovery period of the node7 will be very long, I only want to get back the very limited files those are on node7, because I don’t have the backup.

18. hal9 - January 18, 2011

Why my comment can’t be subscribed?

If the recovery period will be very long, I only want to get back the limited files those were on node7, because I don’t have the part of the backup files.

19. Yasir - January 19, 2011

If I could just get the mysql database restored, then that’s all what I need. But I am still happy with my not-so-recent update on my computer.
But the crucial thing is moving forward I guess.
Thanks for the big effort that we know you have done.

20. akya - January 21, 2011

Any news on current proceedings?

21. iVidman - January 28, 2011

Please restore Node 4

Gatz - January 31, 2011

Node 4 was restored 3 weeks ago. Unfortunately node 7 can’t be recovered, so all data from node 7 is lost.

22. Matheus - January 28, 2011

@iVidman
Wasnt it already restored? My site on it is working great..


Leave a Reply

