jump to navigation

Moving Forward May 9, 2011

Posted by ismywebsite in general.
trackback

Rather than keep waiting for a Version 5 that may never arrive, may well arrive with less than what already exists, and may well be something completely unlike any versions past or present, I have decided to take things into my own hands. In simpler language, I am back.

I’m not surprised by how small the community has become. Without proper tools, tools which are easily within our grasp today, things have had no hope of moving forward. IsMyWebsite has already been rebuilt from the ground up. There’s no need to do so again.

Failing to inspire and properly motivate the past team is clearly a failure which I shall have to accept full responsibility for. There is hope one day the prevailing wind will change to one of cooperation. For now, I am assembling a new army:

This army must have a strong PHP background,
Be knowledgeable in the ways of English,
Communicate what they are doing,
Accept thy sacred coding standard, and
Be honourable to their promises.

These are my conditions. It may be I bring on nobody and so be it. This site will be built block by block, piece by piece, by whoever shall rise to the challenge.

My planned team will include:

  • 1) A Development Organizer, who must have a background on this hosting. Their projects will include:
    • Maintenance of the developer wiki. This will provide a reference for all other developers into each class, system, etc… The developer wiki will be accessible to all developers, but not the general public.
    • Helping to keep track and prioritize what needs to be done. This can be done as a page of the wiki, or using different software.
    • If a third party wiki is used, they are responsible to maintain all the staff accounts.
    • Help to train new developers and make sure they feel welcome into the team.
  • 2) A Volunteer Panel Project Manager, to help with the creation of our desperately needed volunteer panel and all the tools therein. The basics of the volunteer panel are already up and running. Your job is to fill in all the details of the volunteer panel, which include:
    • A system to define and modify departments.
    • A system to define and modify roles within each of those departments./li>
    • A system to define and modify what tools and menus each role has access to.
    • A system to assign people to roles. This needs to also do some set up of webmail, FTP (if necessary), and be flexible to add permissions for more systems in the future.
    • A system to display the menu based on the above permissions.
    • Full scale security to prevent people from modifying the database and granting themselves permissions. (Make it very very difficult.)
  • 3) A Security Expert, whose main job it is to verify and validate all the code, finding holes and enforcing set standards in all the code. This is very important.

Should you be interested to take up a post and help us make gains on the lost time, add my Skype handle:
azoundria

On behalf of all affected by your decision, thank you.

Comments»

1. Bryan Bartlett - May 9, 2011

What can I do to help?

I am experianced in PHP, and can show examples of scripts ive created for various purposes.

WOrk experiance includes 6 years as a programmer for the US Army, 4 years in civilian sector, and as a Freelancer for the last 7 years.

I dont feel i will do good in a lead developer role, however, as I do not feel i have the time avaliable to do such, but i certainly have the time to do parts of projects as needed.

Let me know what you need.

2. ismywebsite - May 9, 2011

You’ve already done so much Bryan…

I guess with your military background, you should know a lot about security. I don’t know how much you’d know lately as it’s changed a fair bit in 7 years.

With your freelancing background, you should be good at helping to set up a freelancing system as well. Basically, it gives our clients another way to afford their hosting.

One thing to note is our system is fairly advanced. It’s object oriented and for the most part, you’re working with already built parts of the code.

I’m not sure the final team, but I’m fairly sure you’re welcome to be part of it.

3. Jasen (Jasen) - May 10, 2011

Build a damn code and stick with it. Guarantee that it would keep an active member-based longer. Jeez..

4. Kenneth Tsang - May 10, 2011

I would love to be able to help out. However, I don’t have much time. Schooling consumes the bulk of my day and I spend a lot of time studying. 😦

5. Nick - May 10, 2011

I really really really want to help, Matt. I have all of the required except PHP. If you have anything you want me to do then I am open to be a part of it, just let me know. You know I can help, and I want to help, so let me be part of it.

6. cblair91 - May 10, 2011

If you need a hand you know I’m here Matt… You know my coding skills already but if you want more proof just ask 😀

7. ismywebsite - May 10, 2011

To confirm, the code base is NOT changing. I am just finishing what needs to be finished to get this site operational.

8. cblair91 - May 10, 2011

I already know most of the source and how it works… That’s a start at least?

9. S3ri0us - May 16, 2011

You know what my skills are. I would like to take care of the organizing if possible. Come back to me via e-mail anytime if you need me.

10. Bogey - May 17, 2011

I would certainly be happy to help

11. ismywebsite - May 18, 2011

Thanks for all the offers. I particularly appreciate those people who added my Skype (azoundria) and already had some idea of how they could best contribute.

12. lyudmil - May 18, 2011

What I came to this site for, was just to use it as a long-term library for my deceased father’s literary works (in Bulgarian with a couple translated in Spanish and Russian) but I already despaired with all that bickering and splitting going on. I liked the good interface and most of all the friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. Seems all that is gone now but I am still loyal to IMW in the hope that some day things may come back to normal. Matt, your move to take things in your hands again is very encouraging. If you manage to make IMW as good as 1 year ago, it would be a great success because in my opinion it was then first-rate, better than Blogger, Webs, Tripod, etc. I don’t want to talk what it is now because it makes me sad. Just to list things that happened to my site only in the past month: (1) it was hacked; (2) my index page was replaced with the words “It works” (3) I tried to delete the info with the button in an effort to restore it somehow from backup but although files were removed, some of pages still could be opened (stored in other place?) (4) I lost every control as I lost access to CP and FTP; (5) Site was excluded from all Google ratings whereas before it ranked on top. As I said, you can count on me for support but I am afraid I do not satisfy the most important conditions:

– a strong PHP background (I have no PHP knowledge)
– knowledgeable in the ways of English (English is not my native language so this is “so-so”)
– Communicate what they are doing (the wish is there but the time is not)
– Accept thy sacred coding standard (no coding standards at all because no coding)
– Be honourable to their promises (well, this is definite yes).

13. Elliott Saille (ellisgeek) - June 7, 2011

I would love to help but i only know a little php. I could help with a little of the css and or layout.


Leave a Reply

